Posted on: July 3, 2020 Posted by: admin Comments: 0


The Artefacts of Power series is a tetralogy of fantasy novels written by British author Maggie Furey. The series revolves around the character Aurian, after whom. To the city of Nexis, where Magefolk rule uneasily over a race of mortals, a young girl named Aurian comes to learn the magic arts. Her dormant powers are. The Artefacts of Power book series by Maggie Furey includes books Aurian, Harp of Winds, Sword of Flame, and several more. See the complete Artefacts of.

Author: Mauzragore Mumuro
Country: Ethiopia
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Travel
Published (Last): 18 February 2012
Pages: 65
PDF File Size: 16.90 Mb
ePub File Size: 5.60 Mb
ISBN: 839-9-59764-984-3
Downloads: 4857
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Vidal

This used to be a blog for an English independent scholar of fantasy fiction – but then “Doctor Who” stole my magbie, my heart, my soul and my life – so these days it’s more a Blog about my on-going utter obsession with “Doctor Who” – with occasional non-DW book reviews and discussions.

I finished this “Sword and Sorcery” series last night. The grail made from a fragment of the Cauldron of Rebirth uses water to resurrect the dead, the Staff of Earth, the Harp of Winds and the Sword of Flame. These four Artefacts are wielded by different Magefolk who, at the outset of the wrtifacts, are few in number — and even fewer in number by its end. Eliseth the Weather Mage wrests power from Miathan and wreaks even greater havoc with the grail of Rebirth than did Miathan, articacts she uses it to restore and control those whom she has slain, making them into puppets fureg do her bidding.

Meriel the Healer goes mad when her soulmate is killed and causes the deaths of quite a few people before being killed herself. Bragar the Fire Mage is sacrificed by Eliseth to protect herself.

Eilin the Earth Mage lives fureu from Nexis in a self-imposed exile after her husband is led to his death by the machinations of Miathan. Aurian wields the Staff of Earth, whilst Anvar wields the Harp of Winds, both are powerful artefacts of the old high magic, like the grail of Rebirth.


Maggie Furey – Book Series In Order

Aurian attempts to claim the Sword of Flame, for she has discovered that she is the One for whom it was created, fjrey in order to claim and furej it, she must bond to it via the blood of a loved one, and she refuses to do so. Eliseth seizes the Sword, only to discover she cannot wield it and it is not until the final battle with Eliseth after Miathan has been killedthat Aurian is able to claim it.

He uses the Sword to kill Anvar and bond it to Aurian, who is then able to use the grail of Rebirth to resurrect Anvar, after she has killed Eliseth with the Sword. Once Aurian has used to the grail to resurrect various people who have been killed, she gives it to Death to take to his realm, knowing that it is far too dangerous to leave it in her world where it might fall into the wrong hands in the future.

She returns the Sword of Flame to the dragons who created it, being repulsed by its power for destruction, but she and Anvar continue to wield the Staff of Earth and the Harp of Winds, both of which have power for good.

Reading this series is akin to reading The Lord of the Ringsboth use changing points of view and narratives that follow different groups of characters, and both move backwards and forwards across large landscapes.

In addition, whilst there is one key character whose destiny will affect the future of the whole world.

Posted by Michele at 8: I learn by reading books; I think by writing. Newer Post Older Post Home. I did a degree in English and History in the late 90s as a mature student, but I’ve loved these subjects since my school days. I concentrated on studying First World War literature and history for most of my degree, until I wrote a paper on Harry Potter in my final semester.


I’ve been writing about fantasy fiction for children and for adults ever since although I haven’t lost my interest in the First World War. In Januaryinspired by David Tennant’s performances as the Tenth Doctor, I took up writing “Doctor Who” fan-fiction and no, I don’t intend to try to publish it anywhere except on my Blog.

I’m just writing it for fun. I’m also about to start writing non-fanfiction as well. I have a ‘day job’ which isn’t very well paid, but does keep me in Oxford, the city I love, and is flexible enough to give me time to write. I am a participant in the Amazon Europe S.

The Artefacts of Power

Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon. View my complete profile. When you have possessed a book with mind and spirit, you are enriched.

But when you pass it on you are enriched threefold. Disco legendo libros; scribendo cogito. Comments on this Blog I welcome comments from anyone and everyone as they add to the conversation. But this is my blog, so I reserve the right to delete any comment that I feel is maghie, including those that use offensive or abusive language, are spam, advertising, trolling, flaming or personal attacks.

Email Address scolere at gmail dot com. What is this series? Who links to me?


Leave a Comment